NexGen Receives Review Comments on Rook I Project Environmental Impact Statement

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

NexGen Receives Review Comments on Rook I Project Environmental Impact Statement

HDownload Audio

by ahnationtalk on December 1, 202296 Views


VANCOUVER, BC, Dec. 1, 2022– NexGen Energy Ltd. (“NexGen” or the “Company”) (TSX: NXE) (NYSE: NXE) (ASX: NXG) is pleased to announce another significant milestone in the advancement of regulatory approvals for the 100% owned Rook I Project (“Rook I” or the “Project”) with the receipt of Federal technical and public review comments and Provincial technical review comments on the Rook I draft Environmental Impact Statement (“EIS”).

The Federal draft EIS review process, coordinated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (“CNSC”), included both technical and public review. Receipt of the Federal review comments follows successful completion of the 90-day Federal public review period that ended on October 12, 2022 (see News Release dated July 15, 2022).

In parallel to the CNSC-coordinated Federal technical and public review, the Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment (“ENV”) completed coordination of a Provincial technical review of the draft EIS. Provincial technical review comments were received in September 2022. With receipt of the Federal (technical and public) and Provincial (technical) review comments, NexGen has commenced a review of comments and response activities and preparation of the final EIS for submission to the ENV and CNSC in Q1 2023.

Further, as part of the integrated Federal Environmental Assessment (“EA”) and licensing process that commenced for the Project in 2019, NexGen has scheduled submission of the remaining final, complete licence application documents to the CNSC in December 2022. These remaining documents build on the final, complete aspects of the licence application package submitted to the CNSC in December 2021 which were positively received.

Historical Key Environmental Assessment and Licensing Dates:
  • April 2019: Submission of EA Project Description / commencement of Licence application
  • December 2021: Submission of initial portion of complete Licence Application documents to CNSC,
  • May 2022: Submission of draft EIS to the ENV and CNSC
  • July 2022: CNSC completion of draft EIS conformity review
  • September 2022: Receipt of Provincial technical review comments on draft EIS
  • November 2022: Receipt of Federal technical and public review comments on draft EIS

Leigh Curyer, Chief Executive Officer commented: “The receipt of the Federal review comments following the draft EIS technical and public review as well as the Provincial technical review is a substantial advancement in the elite, rigorous, and transparent regulatory approval process for the Rook I Project. We are extremely pleased with the result of the technical review by both the CNSC and ENV. It has met the objective NexGen set out to achieve and reflects the many years of dedicated focus, commitment and expertise by the NexGen team in advancing the generational Rook I Project. We look forward to the next stage and simultaneously working in lock-step with Indigenous and community partners towards the final EIS submission to culminate in a Provincial EA approval and CNSC commission hearing. Further, I would like to thank our Indigenous and community partners for their commitment and collaboration to this important process.

Further, NexGen is well advanced in the completion of Front-End Engineering Design and has commenced critical path detailed engineering in parallel with the permitting and licensing advancements.”

The EIS represents the collection of reports that document NexGen’s EA of the Project. NexGen conducted the EA pursuant to The Environmental Assessment Act of Saskatchewan and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (collectively the “Acts”). The information and analysis conducted and submitted in the EIS represent the basis against which the environmental, social, and human health effects of the Project will be evaluated by the ENV and CNSC.

Through a cooperative Provincial-Federal EA process, the ENV and CNSC will share information and work to reduce regulatory duplication, while providing a comprehensive EA process in accordance with the separate requirements that apply and must be satisfied with respect to the Acts, regulations, and guidelines in place for each of the respective jurisdictions.

About NexGen

NexGen is a British Columbia corporation focused on the development of the Rook I Project located in the southwestern Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada, into production. The Rook I Project is supported by a NI 43-101 compliant Feasibility Study which outlines elite environmental performance as well as industry leading economics. Rook I hosts the Arrow Deposit that hosts Measured Mineral Resources of 209.6 M lbs of U3Ocontained in 2.18 M tonnes grading 4.35% U3O8, Indicated Mineral Resources of 47.1 M lbs of U3O8 contained in 1.57 M tonnes grading 1.36% U3O8, and Inferred Mineral Resources of 80.7 M lbs of U3O8 contained in 4.40 M tonnes grading 0.83% U3O8.

NexGen has a highly experienced team of uranium industry professionals with a successful track record in the discovery of uranium deposits and in developing projects through discovery to production. The Company is the recipient of the 2018 PDAC Bill Dennis Award for Canadian mineral discovery and the 2019 PDAC Environmental and Social Responsibility Award.

www.nexgenenergy.ca

Technical Disclosure

All technical information in this news release has been reviewed and approved by Kevin Small, P.Eng., NexGen’s Senior Vice President Engineering and Operations, a qualified person under National Instrument 43-101.

A technical report in respect of the FS is filed on SEDAR (www.sedar.com) and EDGAR (www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml) and is available for review on NexGen Energy’s website (www.nexgenenergy.ca).

NT5

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More