2021-2022 Saskatchewan Provincial Youth Council Announced

2021-2022 Saskatchewan Provincial Youth Council Announced

HDownload Audio

by ahnationtalk on September 13, 202162 Views

September 13, 2021Twelve students will share their perspectives on education with Minister Duncan and the Ministry of Education as a part of the 2021-22 Youth Council.  They will fill an important role representing their peers from around the province by providing input to help shape the future direction of education in Saskatchewan.”These students represent the future leaders of this province,” Education Minister Dustin Duncan said.”  I am excited to hear their perspectives on Saskatchewan’s education system.  An open exchange of ideas will provide valuable insight on how to best prepare all students for the future.”

The 2021-22 Youth Council members are:

  • Abby Wilson, Good Spirit School Division
  • Alex Jones, Regina Catholic Schools
  • Bree Chamakese, North East School Division
  • Daphné Hamel, Conseil des écoles fransaskoises
  • Grace Edwards, Horizon School Division
  • Grayson Hanley, Prairie Spirit School Division
  • Kadence Hodgson, Île-à-la-Crosse School Division
  • Kaelyn Collins, Saskatoon Public Schools
  • Kaia Thauberger, Prairie Valley School Division
  • Natasha Hebert, Lloydminster Public School Division
  • Rhea Martin, Northwest School Division
  • Sung Park, Regina Public Schools

Five school divisions – Good Spirit School Division, Île-à-la-Crosse School Division, Lloydminster Public School Division, Northwest School Division and Regina Public Schools – will have a representative on the council this year for the first time.  Each student brings a collection of interests, perspectives, backgrounds and experiences to the role.

“I can’t wait to meet with a group of like-minded individuals who are as equally excited as I am to create a positive influence in the community,” 2021-22 Youth Council member Natasha Hebert said. “It is a huge honour to be able to take on the responsibility of being a voice for students across the province.”

This is the third year for Saskatchewan’s Youth Council.  It was first established by the Government of Saskatchewan in October 2019. Members of this year’s council will meet for the first time on September 25, 2021.


For more information, contact:

Chelsey Balaski
Phone: 306-787-1414
Email: [email protected]


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More